Spiritual Baby Steps

"Doing" spirituality in the real world

Acceptance

My main area of focus at work (healthcare) is behavior change. How do we help people get motivated to make healthy changes in their lives… eat healthier, exercise, quit smoking? I’d been thinking a lot about this notion of getting people to “do the right thing.” I mean, there is a lot of evidence that eating nutritious foods and exercising keeps you healthy. I’m not exactly sure where this rant (see below) came from or how acceptance fits into the whole healthy decision-making process, but the other day I sat down and the following words just leapt out on the page… feel free to add your two cents!

What if we stopped trying to change people? What if we asked them how much fun they’re having each day? What if we
focused on all the great things they manage to do in a day and that they woke up this morning and made it to the point of connecting with us? What if we just said… OK… and stopped fighting, pushing and screaming, into change? What if we started from a place of acceptance?

What would that look like? Every patient gets asked how much fun they’ve had this week? Every patient gets complimented on their lives…
whatever they’re doing right. We don’t talk about healthy eating, exercise or tobacco cessation… we talk about play, and fun, and feeling good. We ask people what it would take for them to be happy. to take good care of themselves. We ask them how they’re taking care of themselves now. We stop doling out drugs for every known symptom and start having a true conversation about the power of
positivity and self-empowerment. We stop judging our patients and start connecting with them as real people. People with busy lives. People with fears and concerns… families and churches… loved ones and careers. We treat them as vibrant, healthy people who’ve lost connection with their inner source of vitality and joy. We hold their hand as they quiet their mind and reconnect with their body.

Stop trying to change me. Honor, accept and acknowledge that I am perfectly wonderful exactly as I am.

Love and laughter to you!  ~Rashel

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. Marjorie Johnson on said:

    Rashel, you are right on!!!! Thats what it was like years ago with our doctors. They took time with us, talked to us, knew! us and our family. I think this means so much more than going to the pharmacy and getting another drug unless it is absolutely necessary. thanks for your insight and keep up the good work. Love You, Gram

  2. Fantastic Rashel, I guess those words came to you direct from your spirit or inner being. I picked up Eckhart Tolle’s ‘The Power of Now’, which I read 3 years ago. I had forgotten its deeply profound message. Stop listening to that nagging inner tyrant, stop the thinking, watch the mind for all its tricks and falsehoods. Instead, reconnect with your inner being by connecting with the present moment. I do so hope you can put your ‘insight’ into practise, it would profoundly change the Well-being of your clients.

    • I can’t believe I’ve never read the power of now. I keep meaning to. You’ve inspired me to get to it! Thanks, Jerry!

      • I would be very surprised if you did not make a very deep connection with “The Power of Now”. The concept of Acceptance that you right about, is one of the pillars of his observations.

  3. I would like to believe that the majority of people would be very receptive to your ideas, and say to themselves….”wow, what a concept”, but I’m afraid the majority of people want the “supposed” quick fix (medication & or surgery), rather than having to actively participate in healing themselves. A sign of our times, population, lifestyles, demands on our time? I don’t know, and maybe I’m misjudging our culture, but that’s what I feel I see.
    Love your insights though. Thank you for sharing, ALWAYS. XO Mama

    • Rashel Sanna on said:

      Thank you, Mama, for commenting. Working in healthcare, I am aware that many patients do want the quick fix. And the reality is that most physicians and providers want to provide it. My belief is that wanting and offering the quick fix is the exact opposite of effective “medicine.” I am hopeful that as patients come to realize that the quick fix doesn’t work, we will move as a culture toward integrative medicine where patients not only take part in the healing of their own bodies, but that all involved – patients and providers – recognize that is only the patient, and no one else, who can really heal their own bodies.

Leave a Reply

