Spiritual Baby Steps

"Doing" spirituality in the real world

To Err is Human…

Then shouldn’t we be used to it by now? Isn’t it the human way to learn by trial and error… and for some of us error… and error… and then a few more errors for good measure! Well… if error is such common occurrence, then why do we get so flustered by it? Why do we make ourselves feel so awful and beat ourselves up so much? (That’s not just me, is it?) A curious thing if, in fact, one of the main reasons we’re on this earth is to learn and grow and one of the main ways that we learn and grow is through making mistakes.

But what is the alternative? To celebrate our screw ups? What about the hurt feelings, the tears and the anger… potentially experienced by others as well as ourselves… all direct results of our poor choices? Hmmm… makes the celebrating thing seem a little out of line, huh? I’d like to push for acceptance as the alternative. And by acceptance, I do not mean hide in the corner and pretend it didn’t happen. I mean… take responsibility for the poor choice, make amends where needed, and forgive yourself for being human. If you can then learn from the experience and grow accordingly, you might even go so far as to thank the person or people who’ve helped you grow… if they’re still talking to you, that is.

Acceptance is something I’ve been playing with for quite a while. It’s a term I’ve struggled with for the very reason that I am constantly pushing myself to learn and grow as a person. Acceptance, at times, has seemed like defeat to me. Giving up and “accepting” that I can’t change whatever it is that I am accepting. In Byron Katie‘s work, she refers to acceptance as the ability to stop fighting with the reality of what is. It’s a paradigm shift that has helped me come to my current understanding of what I believe acceptance is.

Here’s where I’m at right now on the whole acceptance thing… I think that acceptance means you are acknowledging reality. I think that acceptance does not necessarily mean that you like the choices you made or that you wish you’d made them. It does mean that you choose to forgive yourself and recognize that there are lessons to be received if you allow yourself to be open and accept them.

I’m wondering how you handle your own mistakes… do you pretend they didn’t happen? do you apologize profusely? are there candy and roses given to all involved? Where do you fall on the whole acceptance thing? And most importantly… how do you make yourself feel better when the inevitable occurs?

Love and laughter to you!  ~Rashel

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “To Err is Human…

  1. Shelley on said:

    ah yes…..errors, I have made a few in my life. When I was younger I believe “denial” was a huge part of how I dealt with mistakes I made. But, alas, that didn’t really work out for me in the long run. In the latter years of my life, I have learned (probably the hard way), that acceptance and facing the reality of the situation and my part in it, is the only way I can process it and move forward. So, in saying that, I have had to humble myself, make some amends, and accept what ever consequences may come from doing so. I feel I have gained some inner peace in this process and that has helped me be more authentic…..to myself and to those around me. Love all your insights on this subject Rashel, as usual! Love Mama

  2. Rashel on said:

    Thanks, Mama! You are definitely one of the most authentic, courageous people I know. Thank you for being such a great role model.

  3. I don’t make mistakes.,,,,, oh wait,,, the whole denial thing.

  4. Pingback: reverse psychology 101: “focus on the anti-negative” (the language of taboos) « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

