Spiritual Baby Steps

"Doing" spirituality in the real world

It’s Over… or is it?

Well, the Game On diet challenge is officially over as of today. It was interesting to notice my thoughts throughout the day… as I made choices about what to eat, when to eat, and how much. I had a diet coke today… the first in 4 weeks. It wasn’t as great as I thought it would be. I also ate pretty good… no crazy acting out or the like. I actually drank a lot of water, too. I’m really liking the water thing!

I lost a total of 5 pounds during the challenge. Not nearly as dramatic as most of my colleagues, who were touting their 7 pound weight loss during the first week! All were quick to point out the well-known fact that the weight you take off slowly tends to stay off… easy for them to say in their skinny jeans! Of course I’m kidding… I’m happy for all of my wonderful colleagues and friends who were able to follow the diet and lose weight. It is interesting though, that a key component of the game is the competition between teams. On the one hand I’m supporting this person… and on the other, I want to win – so yeah, you should go ahead and have that extra glass of wine!

I’m happy to say that I think some of the healthy changes I’ve made will stick with me. I’ve decided to start a maintenance group for those who have played the Game On diet and still want to maintain some of the changes… but won’t be playing another round. YES, some of the folks are actually playing another round. I know, right? Seriously! Anyway, I think the hardest part is usually maintaining. Most people can do the sprint… but the marathon is where you can really show off. (At least, that’s what I’m telling myself, cause I’m pretty sure I didn’t lead my team to victory!)

The one thing that doesn’t seem to have stuck too well is the sleeping. I enjoy sleep as much as the next person… but it’s really challenging to fit in everything I want and feel I need to do in a day into 17 hours. Geez… that sounds ridiculous when I actually write it out! Really? 17 hours is a pretty long time. It makes me realize that I probably spend a lot of my time being “busy” but not necessarily productive. Maybe in the maintenance group the goal will be to maintain the changes that seem to have stuck… and to find ways to streamline your day so you can have more time to prepare meals, exercise and relax! Seems like a good plan, anyway!

So… thank you all for obliging me this opportunity to share my short, but ever so painful diet journey. I’m curious about others’ ability to maintain after doing the diet thing. Did any of it stick? For how long? Let me know… and I’ll keep you posted on how it goes for me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

