Spiritual Baby Steps

"Doing" spirituality in the real world

Am I focusing on the positive here?

Well, I did manage to make it through week 2 of the Game On! diet. It was rough, I won’t lie. I actually lost 2 pounds this week, but I was pretty crabby about the whole thing. I was feeling left out of meals, experienced lots of cravings and seemed to be obsessing about food. Is this the effect we’re going for? I’m not so sure. I don’t like being obsessed about food, or the number on the scale, or the weight of my food! However… I did make some pretty healthy choices and I did manage to lose 2 pounds.  So… what do I make of it all?

Well, part of me feels like this is really lots of work. I have to prepare my meals ahead of time and I have to constantly monitor the clock to make sure I’m not going longer than 4 hours between meals, and that I don’t end up needing to eat two more “smeals” at 9pm at night. I am often making separate meals for myself and my family… or if my husband cooks, cooking my own meal as well. Part of me just wants to make it easy and eat a piece of whole grain toast, low-fat cottage cheese and banana for every meal. I guess any time you’re doing something restrictive or different, it’s easy to feel deprived and want to rebel.

I was actually having a conversation with friends today about the impact of focusing on the positive instead of the negative. When we want to make a change, or, as is more often the case, want someone else to make a change… a proven effective strategy is to focus on what you want more of… focus on the positive. Our natural tendency is to focus on what we want to change, what is wrong, what we want to be different. I’ve come to believe over time that what we focus on, we get more of. As hard as this is to actually implement… to focus on the good points instead of what we want to change, it can be extremely effective. I started thinking about how I could apply this principle to my Game On! diet. What’s working? What am I doing right?

I’m sleeping more. I’m drinking lots of water and I’ve completely given up diet soda (apparently it’s bad for you). I’m drinking less wine and have all but given up chai tea lattes (1 grande per week is basically giving it up in my book!). I’m eating whole grain bread and more fruits and vegetables than I have in years. I’m doing some kind of exercise for at least 30 minutes (often much longer) every day. That’s a lot of good stuff. How can I shift my feelings away from deprivation and focusing on where I’m falling short to abundance and what’s working well? Easier said than done? We’ll see… I’m going to give it a go this week and see how often I can shift my mood to a positive place by focusing on how great I’m doing. Do you think it will make it easier? I hope so!

What changes are you trying to make these days? Or what changes are you wishing you could help foster in others? How can you use focusing on the positive aspects to help propel the changes you desire? Go ahead… try it out and let me know what happens!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

